[unav_all] AGU - Geodesy reception and UNAVCO Business Meeting

Meghan Miller meghan at unavco.org
Wed Nov 5 11:20:12 MST 2008

UNAVCO Community,

As you know, UNAVCO is a member-governed university consortium and the  
membership participates in two important elections at the Annual  
Business Meeting at AGU - for the Board of Directors that governs  
UNAVCO and the Nominating Committee that determines next year's slate  
for the board.

Please find attached a copy of the letter that was mailed with a  
ballot to the representatives of UNAVCO Member institutions yesterday,  
announcing the annual UNAVCO Business Meeting and the slate of board  
candidates for the 2009 Board.  If you are affiliated with a Member  
Institution and wish to caucus, the name of your representative can be  
found at:

While the representatives of Associate Member institutions do not  
vote, all community members are cordially invited to participate in  
the business meeting, which follows the Geodesy Reception.  At the  
meeting, we will learn the results of the election and review the  
advances of UNAVCO over the last year.

I look forward to seeing you in San Francisco!


Meghan Miller
President, UNAVCO

Member Institutions and their designated Representatives:

Candidate statements and biographical information:

Text of the letter to the Representatives:

UNAVCO Business Meeting and Elections
Date: December 16, 2008
Time: 7:30pm
Place: San Francisco Marriott, Salon B3

Dear Member Representative:

In the mail, you will receive a proxy ballot in which you will  
indicate your support for five members of the Board of Directors of  
UNAVCO and two members of the Nominating Committee.  Please vote by  
proxy as soon as possible before the annual meeting, even if you plan  
to attend. The proxy ballot is revocable; at the meeting member  
representatives can request a new ballot and withdraw their proxy. We  
cannot hold a meeting without a quorum, including proxies, so it is  
critical that you return yours in the enclosed envelope.  Candidate  
information is available can be found here.http://www.unavco.org/community/governance/board_candidates/2009_candidates/2009_candidates.html

UNAVCO is a member-governed organization.  As a member representative,  
one important way for you to influence the direction of the  
organization is through the makeup of the Board.  There are five open  
seats on the board:  four open for two-year terms, and one to fill the  
second year of Holly Given’s term.  Because she has accepted at  
position at NSF, Dr. Given could not continue as a Director.  Three  
open positions are reserved for Institutional Directors; two are for  
At-Large seats – including the one-year position.  According to the  
bylaws, each Institutional Director at the time of election shall be  
an individual affiliated, as an employee or otherwise, with a Member.  
Directors-at-Large shall not also be Member Representatives.

The ballot is structured so that you will vote for three among the  
slate for Institutional Director; the top three vote-winners will be  
named Director.  For the at-large seats, the ballot requires you to  
choose among two sets of candidates:  one set for the two-year term,  
and one set to fill the remaining year of the vacated term.

UNAVCO is facing an exciting year as we implement the strategic plan  
in support of community science priorities.  UNAVCO continues to  
support individual investigators at home and abroad.  We have  
transitioned to EarthScope Operations and Maintenance, and will  
oversee both Plate Boundary Observatory and the San Andreas Fault  
Observatory at Depth.  The completion of GeoEarthScope has made large  
InSAR and LiDAR data sets available; the WInSAR community has chosen  
UNAVCO to host their collaboration.    UNAVCO also now supports  
Terrestrial Laser Scanner (TLS) instrumentation, and participates in a  
number of cyberinfrastructure and web services projects.  We have been  
internationally recognized for our archive and open data policy.  With  
the global proliferation of GNSS technologies, we are poised to  
greatly expand our scientific reach.  Such opportunity requires strong  

Please mark your proxy with careful consideration of the future of  

In addition to candidates for Director, the ballot includes candidates  
for the Nominating Committee, which will make nominations for the 2009  
ballot. This is the only committee that is appointed and controlled by  
the membership independent of the Board.

M. Meghan Miller
President, UNAVCO
6350 Nautilus Drive
Boulder, CO  80301

Voice:  303/381-7514
By cell:  720/320-0026
Fax:  303/381-7501
meghan at unavco.org

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://ls.unavco.org/pipermail/unav_all/attachments/20081105/78acc9fb/attachment.html

More information about the unav_all mailing list