[unav_all] August 22 deadline - Call for Nominations for the Board

Meghan Miller meghan at unavco.org
Sun Aug 15 15:34:19 MDT 2010

On behalf of the Nominating Committee, a reminder:

Please send your board nominations as soon as possible to:   Pamela Jansma <pjansma at uta.edu> with a copy to Jaime Magliocca <magliocca at unavco.org>.

Subject: 	Solicitation for Nominations for the UNAVCO Board of Directors 
To:     	UNAVCO Community 
From:    	UNAVCO Nominating Committee 
Date:    	29 July 2010 

In the fall, UNAVCO will hold its annual election for its Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee is soliciting suggestions for potential candidates for the Board. We encourage all members of the UNAVCO community to contribute suggestions for Board candidates. Self-nominations and nominations of colleagues are both welcome. 

There are openings for:

•	three (3) Board Members who are affiliated with UNAVCO Member Institutions. A Board Member may be a Member Representative.
•	one (1) opening for a Board Member-at-Large. The Board Member-at-Large may not also be a Member Representative, but may be otherwise affiliated with a Member Institution. A person who is not affiliated with a Member Institution is also eligible to serve as a Board Member-at-Large. 

Board Members serve a two-year term, and are eligible for a second consecutive term before rotation.

A current list of Member Institutions is available at: http://www.unavco.org/community/membership/memberinstitutions.html. 

The four current Board members whose terms will expire are: 
Susan Owen (JPL), Susan Schwartz (UC Santa Cruz), Matthew Pritchard (Cornell University), and Sridhar Anandakrishnan (Penn State). Only Matt Pritchard is eligible to serve again at this time, having just completed a single term.  

The three Board members whose terms will not expire this year are: Bill Holt (SUNY Stony Brook), Ian MacGregor (National Sciences Resources Center, Smithsonian Institution), and Carol Raymond (JPL).

Please note that while US government employees may serve as “non-voting observers” on UNAVCO committees, they may not serve on the UNAVCO Board. Some people who work at government labs (e.g., Lawrence Livermore, JPL, etc.) are employed by a university rather than the government and thus are eligible to serve. IRIS, for example, has similar restrictions. 

The board members who will be elected this year will play an important role in shaping UNAVCO’s future, as this board will be involved in writing the proposal for the 2013-2018 cooperative agreement award.  The National Science Foundation has announced a plan to integrate EarthScope and Facility core support and community activities into a single proposal and award.  This board will play a leadership role in shaping that change.

UNAVCO seeks a candidate pool that reflects the diversity of the UNAVCO community. Thus, we call for nominations that represent the disciplinary, ethnic and gender diversity of our scientific community. We are also particularly interested in encouraging nominations of junior scientists to help ensure engagement among the next generation of UNAVCO community scientists. 

Please send suggestions for candidates to the chair of the Nominating Committee, Pamela Jansma <pjansma at uta.edu> with a copy to Jaime Magliocca <magliocca at unavco.org>. The deadline for receipt of suggestions is August 22, 2010.

Thank you, 

Nominating Committee: 
Pam Jansma, University of Texas at Arlington, Chair
Tim Dixon, University of Miami
Tim Melbourne, Central Washington University
Tonie van Dam, University of Luxemburg
unav_all mailing list
unav_all at ls.unavco.org

More information about the unav_all mailing list