[unav_all] nominations needed for UNAVCO board of directors, August 13 Deadline

Kristine Larson kristinem.larson at gmail.com
Wed Jul 31 12:03:08 MDT 2013

This fall UNAVCO will hold its annual elections for its Board of Directors
and Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee is soliciting
suggestions for potential candidates for both. We encourage all members of
the UNAVCO community to send self- or colleague nominations for either to
Kristine Larson, Nominating Committee chair
(kristinem.larson at gmail.com<chuck at geology.wisc.edu>),
and copied to Jaime Magliocca (magliocca at unavco.org). The nomination
deadline is August 13, 2013. Details regarding both are given below.

*Nominees for Board of Directors: *

There are openings for:

·   two (2) Board Members who are affiliated with UNAVCO Member
Institutions. These Board Members may be Member Representatives, but it is
not required.

·   one (1) Board Member-at-Large. The Board Member-at-Large may or may not
be affiliated with a Member Institution, but may not be a Member

Board Members serve a two-year term and are eligible for a second
consecutive term before rotation.

A current list of Member Institutions is available at:


The three current Board members whose terms will expire are:

·   Rick Anthes (UCAR President Emeritus; Member At-large), and

·   Bill Holt (SUNY Stony Brook; Institutional member),

·   Carol Raymond (JPL; Institutional member).

Of these three, only Rick Anthes is eligible to serve again at this time.
Bill Holt and Carol Raymond are term-limited.

 The four Board members whose terms will continue this year are:

·   Rebecca Bendick (University of Montana; Institutional Member), and

·   Peter La Femina (Penn State University; Institutional member),

·   Rowena Lohman (Cornell University; Institutional member), and

·   David Sandwell (UC San Diego; Member At-large)

US government employees may serve as “non-voting observers” on UNAVCO
committees, but may not serve on the UNAVCO Board. Some who work at
government labs (e.g., JPL, etc.) are employed by a university rather than
the government and thus are eligible to serve.

UNAVCO seeks a candidate pool that reflects the diversity of the UNAVCO
community. Thus, we request nominations that represent a variety of
disciplinary, geographic, institutional, ethnic, and gender perspectives.

This is an important and challenging year for UNAVCO.  The board will (1)
Oversee the completion of the transition to the single GAGE cooperative
agreement under a new UNAVCO organizational structure and refine the new
governance structure, (2) Guide the facility in planning for long-term
sustainability of the Plate Boundary Observatory beyond 2018, and (3)
Ensure the cultivation of new investigators and sub-disciplines.

*Nominees for UNAVCO Nominating Committee:** *We also need nominees for two
Nominating Committee positions that will be vacated by Kristine Larson
and Susan
Schwartz at the end of their present two-year terms. Continuing members on
that committee include Pamela Jansma and Paul Segall (both serving the
first year of a two-year term).

Thank you,

Kristine Larson, Pamela Jansma, Paul Segall, and Susan Schwartz
Kristine M. Larson
Professor of Aerospace Engineering Sciences

University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309-0429

PBO H2O: http://xenon.colorado.edu/portal
phone: 303 492-6583
fax: 303 492-7881
e-mail: kristinem.larson at gmail.com
web: http://spot.colorado.edu/~kristine
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://postal.unavco.org/pipermail/unav_all/attachments/20130731/43b20689/attachment-0001.html>

More information about the unav_all mailing list