Webinar & Teaching Module: Teaching About the Water Cycle with Data-rich Water Resources Activities

Beth Pratt-Sitaula prattsitaula at unavco.org
Thu Feb 20 04:29:29 UTC 2020


working registration link this time https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/workshops/2020Feb/registration.html <https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/workshops/2020Feb/registration.html>
sorry for any inconvenience

> On Feb 19, 2020, at 2:08 PM, Beth Pratt-Sitaula <prattsitaula at unavco.org> wrote:
> 
> Hello All
> 
> NAGT Webinar Series Presents:
> Teaching About the Water Cycle with Data-rich Water Resources Activities <https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/workshops/2020Feb/index.html>
> Thursday, February 27, 2020
> 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET
> 
> Webinar Registration <https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/workshops/2020Jan/registration.html> deadline: Tuesday February 25, 2020
> 
> Knowing where water is coming from will play an increasingly important role in our warming and changing Earth. Give you undergraduate students an opportunity to analyze a wide variety of water-related data sets from reflection GPS snow depth and SNOTEL to gravity satellites and groundwater wells.
> 
> This webinar introduces instructors to Eyes on the Hydrosphere: Tracking Water Resources <https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/teaching_materials/water_challenges/index.html> teaching module from the GEodesy Tools for Societal Issues (GETSI) <https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/index.html> project. During the module students not only learn to increase their data analysis skills, but gain experience in tying the measurements to societal water use and needs. Case studies are taken from the Rocky Mountains (snow/surface water dominated) and Great Plains (rain/groundwater dominated) and then the module culminates in students exploring data sets and water issues from their own region.
> 
> The module is appropriate for a wide variety of undergraduate intro- and mid-level Earth and environmental science courses.
> 
> Online teaching module and webinar are free!
> 
> 
> Beth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD
> UNAVCO Science Education Specialist
> prattsitaula at unavco.org <mailto:prattsitaula at unavco.org> | 509-899-3480 | www.unavco.org <http://www.unavco.org/>

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://postal.unavco.org/pipermail/unav_all/attachments/20200219/71a8aefd/attachment.html>


More information about the unav_all mailing list